Review: Urban Angel, Hanover Street

I’m at Urban Angel again for lunch, as I’ve errands to run in town and it’s so convenient. It also helps the food is fabulous!

I’m eating alone today, having left the boyfriend at home. We have our usual sharing dishes we order every time, like the homemade bread with olive oil and dukkah, but as I’m on my own I thought I’d try something different.

So today, I am having the crispy polenta bites with tomato and Parmesan, and the whole mackerel with a fennel, apple and blue cheese salad.

20110825-160420.jpg

The polenta was perfectly cooked, crispy on the outside and smooth and creamy with just the right amount if texture within. It came with shavings of Parmesan and a fresh tomato salsa comparable to Lupe Pintos. All served on a bed of rocket.

20110825-160320.jpg
My mackerel was a generous portion of fish, complete with head and tail! It was expertly cooked with a crispy skin and tender flesh. The salad combined sweet, crunchy apple with the tanginess of blue cheese and delicate slices of fennel. Fabulous!

20110825-154141.jpg
I finished my meal with a slice of their New York baked cheesecake, my usual treat. This is the cheesecake against which all other cheesecakes are compared. Rich and creamy, not too sweet and with a cake base. Beautiful!

I’m now happily stuffed and ready for an afternoon of messages and some sneaky shopping.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

