Sloe gin

I made sloe gin for the first time today! It’s a drink that reminds me of summer, which is perfect as it shall be ready to drink (in 18 months time) in May 2013…

I have to say, this is the first time I’ve preserved without the instant gratification of jam. There’s something nice about having something lovely to look forward to in a year and a half, and I finally have something I can genuinely ‘save for later’. The recipe I used was a loose interpretation of Hugh Fearnley Whittingstall’s version, though as I had slightly more gin than his called for, I just used a bit more sugar and a few more sloes.

 

Sloe Edinburgh Gin

500g sloes

500g golden caster sugar

1 bottle (700ml) Edinburgh Gin

In a large bottle or jar, put sloes in and bash with a fork to release the juices. I used two sealable kilner jars as they were what I had to hand, but any large jar or demijohn will do. Add the sugar (if dividing the mixture between several jars, just make sure to divide the berries and sugar evenly). Finally, fill with gin. Shake, shake and shake some more.

That’s it. Now wait for 18 months until the sloe gin has matured for an appropriate length of time. Strain and bottle. Or cut out the middle-man and just strain and drink. Serve with a sprig of mint and a splash of sparkling elderflower.

 

20111121-213900.jpg

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

