Recipe: Adventures in fish stock

I roasted a whole brill for lunch today, and did a frankly atrocious job at filleting the damned thing. I just chucked the bones and bits into a pot to make fish stock, which I have never done before. I have to say, it’s turned out pretty nice, so tomorrow may be fish soup for lunch!

Ingredients

Head and miscellaneous parts of a whole brill
Water to cover
2 smallish onions
1 carrot
A couple bay leaves
A couple sprigs of dill
Salt

Lay the fish parts in a pot and cover with cold water. Add the other ingredients and season.

20120206-172633.jpg

Bring the water to a simmer on a very low heat for a very long time, I left mine for about 5 hours but that could have been to do with me finishing off my report for uni and being distracted!

I basically put the stock on to simmer whilst my roasted brill was cooking away in the oven. So once the fish for my lunch came out I removed the bones in one strip (would that be the spine?) and added them to the stock. More bones = more flavour, right?

20120206-172644.jpg

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

