Recipe: Roasted whole brill with oregano and bay

Now that I shared my recipe for my first foray into fish stock, I feel I should probably do the same with the actual brill I had for lunch (from whence the bones came).  This was a super-lazy lunck, and I feel ever-so-slightly guilty for even calling it a ‘recipe’.  My friend M was round again, this time to do some hard labour – lifting some seriously heavy antique radiators into the house – so I thought the least I could do was feed him some tasty fish.  Because fish makes you strong, see?  Strong enough to lift a solid cast iron radiator?  Why yes.

Also, brill is a flat fish, which is a bit of a nightmare to fillet and remove the feathers/gills.  I would strongly suggest asking your fishmonger to do this for you, or at least removing the feathers.  I stupidly tried to do it with scissors, which worked…not so well.  M was a fisherman in a former life and he managed to chop ye olde fish head off with a knife without any problem, after he had a hearty chuckle at my attempts to snip my way through bone and flesh.  Like I said, I’m not proud.

Ingredients

1 whole brill, feathers and head removed

juice of 1/2 a lemon

About 3 tbsp butter

2 Bay leaves

Leaves from 1 sprig of oregano

Salt and plenty of black pepper

In a casserole dish laythe herbs and place the brill on top, belly-side down.  Add butter in knobs along the top, season well and squeeze over the lemon juice.  Roast in the oven for about 15-20 minutes until the fish forms tender flakes.  Do NOT overcook!

When cooked, using a wooden spatula gently lift off the fish fillets and spoon over the lemony, herby butter.

Serve with boiled potatoes.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

