Today has been a glorious day, I just can’t stop smiling!

For those of you who follow this lovely lady, Michaela at Michaela Noelle Designs (and I would vehemently recommend you do, her blog is far too pretty to miss!), you may know she and Anna at In Honor of Design and Megan at Mackay Madness decided to challenge their readers to start a Movement of Kindness.  You can see Michaela’s post here.

A Movement of Kindness? you ask?  What’s that?  Well quite simply, it’s a way for people to spread the love, do nice things for the sake of doing them, a Random Act of Kindness.   I decided I wanted to spread the love in my own fabulous hometown of Edinburgh, and after mulling it over this morning I came up with a nice wee thing I could do to make someones day just that little bit better.

So I phoned up my favourite independant bookshop Word Power Books on West Nicolson Street and asked them if I could do my own little RAoK.  I decided to buy a bunch of £5 gift vouchers and asked them if they could hand them out at random with a wee note from me.  I printed out a bunch of the Spread the Love icons and wrote ‘have a lovely day’ on the back of them and told the lady at Word Power I’d be down on my bike in about 15 minutes.

WImage

ImageImage

hen I got there (after some faffing about as I managed to lose my keys, then my bag, then my keys again), I told the fabulous lady working about my plan and she seemed just as chuffed with the idea as I was – I told her I didn’t want anyone to know where the gift had come from, but just to say it was from a random girl who wanted to do a random nice thing for a stranger.

Image

By the time I left Word Power I was already in a great mood.  I’d done something nice for someone and hopefully brightened up their day if but a tiny bit. I love the idea that I’d played some small part in someone’s day, and as the lady in Word Power said, the person who receives the gift may find a book that changes their life.  How cool is that???

Oh, and incidentally this was the first time I’d ever cycled on a road, IN A CYCLE LANE, ever.  I’m new at this whole bike malarky, and I’ve never had the courage to ventrue out on the big scary roads where *shock horror* cars and buses go.  But today, I thought I would give it a try.  Man it felt good!

So I got back on my bike and started to head for home.  I was originally going to stop at Tupiniquim,  the police box my friends Fernando and Gardenia run…I was just going to say hi quickly on my way past, but I somehow took a wrong turning and ended up heading towards Bristo Square.  In fact, I nearly ended up in Bristo Square on my bike, but managed to turn off just in time. As I made my way to Tupiniquim, I looked up and realised there was a guy standing in front of me with his BMX.  Incidentally, I know this guy.  I’d go as far as to say he is a lovely guy, who I get on with really well and is also coincidentally very pleasant on the eye.  This guy.

We spent ages chatting, he asked me if I fancied watching him make a jump and I thought, why not?  beats revisiing for my exam tomorrow.  The guy is actually hilarious, I don’t think I know anyone else who can spout such volumes of randomness with such effortless consistency.  I think I only meant to stay for a few minutes but ended up killing about an hour just hanging out.  Talking about bikes!  And I realised partway through the conversation I actually understood what I was saying!  Hey, when did I start knowing about bikes???

So today, I am in such a good mood I’m fit to burst.  And you know what they say, when you’re happy it makes people around you happy…so everyone around me must be pretty ecstatic!

xxx

Spread the love: Today has been…

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Spread the love: Today has been…

  1. Spread the love is a brilliant, brilliant, brilliant thing to do. You have inspired me to do the same, and pay it forward. Thanks ! Lynne xx

  2. Michaela says:

    This is so sweet! I love that you used the little logo Anna made. So special. Those people definitely appreciated the gesture…I know it! 🙂

  3. […] Doing a nice thing, aka Spreading the Love.  Inspired by the lovely Michaela […]

Leave a Reply

