Recipe: experiment with a partridge in a pear tree

I have been thinking about partridges and pear trees since I gave my friend a partridge a few weeks ago, a strange gift some might think. Or is it?

What better gift than the gift of game? So I bought myself my own wee bird and tonight I finally decided it was time to concoct a recipe for it. This was my experiment.

Ingredients

1 whole partridge
2-3 rashers streaky bacon
2 large pears, cubed
A couple sprigs each rosemary, sage, thyme
A few bay leaves

Preheat oven to 200’C.

Make a pear bed for the bird, scattering any extra around for good luck. Wrap the bacon around the bird making sure to cover the legs as well – I cut the streaks in half lengthways to make longer strands, which were easier to twist around the partridge.

20120212-203100.jpg

I didn’t season the bird because the salt from the bacon should be sufficient (for the same reason I wouldn’t add salt to carbonara). If you are using reduced salt rashers then a bit of salt before bacon won’t go wrong.

20120212-203210.jpg

Finally stuff the herbs inside the cavity of the bird and roast for about 45 minutes. The bacon should crisp and curl up, and it can now be chopped and mixed with the roasted pear. Remove the herbs from inside the bird.

20120212-203315.jpg

I had my lovely bird with some leftover honey roast parsnips from last night’s dinner. As tonight’s pears were pretty massive I saved some to have with tomorrow’s dinner.

20120212-203354.jpg

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

