Brownies

I haven’t made brownies in years, probably the last time was when I still lived in my old flat! I thought about them all the way home from Glasgow and googled a few recipes for ideas. One thing I’ve learned today? There’s a lot of freaking brownie recipes out there!

Once I’d written out my ingredients, I realised this was going to very much be a ‘make do and mend’ kind of recipe! I couldn’t get the scales to work, for one thing, so I had to measure the flour with a measuring spoon. No idea if that’s worked! Then I had no baking tin, do a ceramic oven dish had to do. Oh and I only had parchment circles to line the dish, so I came up with some creative laying of the circles!

It’s an easy recipe, prep time was fairly minimal and you can of course add things to the batter before baking. I went with walnuts, chocolate chunks of the milk and dark variety, and a drizzle of butterscotch.

Ingredients

200g butter
250g dark chocolate (I used valrhona noir at 68%)
85g plain flour
50g cocoa powder
50g milk chocolate, chopped
50g dark chocolate, chopped
3 large eggs
200g caster sugar
75g dark muscovado sugar
75g chopped walnuts
Butterscotch or dulce de leche

Melt the chocolate and butter in a bain marie (place a bowl over a pot of simmering water). Allow to cool.

Preheat oven to 180’C. Grease and line a tin, or in my case a roasting dish!

Sift flour and cocoa into a bowl. In another bowl combine the eggs and sugars, beating with an electric mixer until fluffy – this should double in size. Fold in the melted chocolate and butter. Now sift the flour in and fold it on as well. Add chopped chocolate and nuts.

20120419-001839.jpg

Pour the batter into the lined dish and drizzle with butterscotch.

20120419-002232.jpg

Bake about 30 mins until top cracked and the mixture no longer jiggles when you shake the dish! They should still be gooey in the middle. Now my oven is on its last legs so it took far longer than it should, but for this recipe about 30 minutes should do it.

20120419-004005.jpg

Allow to cool and cut into squares. Devour. Share if you must.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

