Shoes, glorious shoes

I’ve been searching for the perfect dress to wear to my friends M and C’s wedding next week, and after an afternon wandering around Harvey Nicks and George Street I was nearly ready to give up.  Say sod it and rustle up something from my own wardrobe.  Ok admittedly my wardobe is better stocked than some shops, but there is something about a wedding that really requires a new outfit.

Or so I keep telling myself.

Well, several hours and a champagne lunch with D later, we found this great little shoe shop on Castle Street.  I’d heard about it before but had never wandered in as it’s usually by appointment only – guess that’s just a subtle way of saying ‘we’re only open Thursday to Sunday, so if you want us any other day of the week phone and make sure someone will be in’.  Says on their website drop in times are Thursday to Sunday anyways, so luckily for us it was a Saturday!

Now I am a total design geek (amongst other things), and one thing I have always been a little obsessed with over and beyond my usual geekery is architect-designed objets d’art.  I don’t mean buildings, but anything that utilises the knowledge an architect has over a designer of structure, engineering and form in alternative mediums from concrete and glass just kinda makes me swoon.

United Nude is a label I’d heard about over the past couple months, but as Edinburgh isn’t exactly a fashion capital (I think we have cobbled streets to thank for that) I had never seen their shoes in person.  I did know however that they designed a line of ‘EAMZ’ shoes with a structural heel inspired by the works of Charles and Ray Eames and had seen them online.  I think once you look at the shoes close up it doesn’t come as any surprise that the guys behind these beautiful shoes are a Dutch architect and an British shoemaker.

So today I will be going back to bring these babies home.  Moulded carbon fibre sole and 5″ heel and designed as a structural frame for the foot (a little like the steel beams that hold up skyscrapers).  Rest assured I will be snapping a photo of my own wee feet once these darlings are mine!

Image

Resources:

United Nude: designed by an architect and a shoemaker

Shhh…: concept New Town shoe shop, Edinburgh

KidViskous: Style breakdown, 9 of spring’s strangest heels

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

