#BEDM Day 1: 5 Lines

The first day into the #BEDM challenge and already I’m rebelling! As I’m using to WordPress app on my phone and the alignment sometimes skews, I’m going to give you 5 points that I feel sum me up instead.

1. I am an incurable lighting nerd. I’m a bit of a geek for all aspects of applied design, but lighting is my passion. I could talk about it for hours. I sometimes do…

2 I am a Canadian. Notice I say ‘a Canadian’ rather than simply ‘Canadian’? That’s because I haven’t lived there since 1997, but I’ve got an oddly strong sense of nationalistic pride (and a certain fondness for lumberjack shirts, maple syrup and that particular type of snow that can only be found in the west coast of Canada).

3. I adore my dog, maybe more than one person should. I treat him like a human, so much so I think he sometimes forgets he’s not! Two words…spoiled rotten. Look at his wee face at 10 weeks old!

20130501-035837.jpg
Of course he is fully equipped with top-of-the-range outdoor gear, down to the most adorable hiking boots!

20130501-040005.jpg

4. I’ve wanted to become a designer since I was 8 years old. I used to make bondage-style dresses for my Barbie dolls when I was little, sat under the table at family reunions with a notebook and a pen, sketching crudely drawn fashion illustrations as soon as I could hold a pen. I studied fashion at Parsons Summer Programme in Paris, and did two stints working in fashion (mostly studio work; pattern draughting, cutting, sample production) but hated the bitchiness of the industry. I still have a love for design, but my tastes run to interiors and product design now rather than fashion.

5. I am not afraid of change. I’ve always found it exciting, always looked forward to the newest job, friend, challenge or adventure. Maybe it’s the optimist in me, maybe it’s because I moved around a lot whilst at high school…or maybe it’s because I like the uncertainty I feel when I’m given a project I need to familiarise myself with from scratch…knowing I will most definitely learn something unexpected! There’s nothing like it!

Oh and last but not least, I present you with a photo of me looking distinctly goofy…I’m doing my best impression of a deconstructed ravioli!

20130501-044212.jpg
And a slightly more sensible photo from my friend Em’s birthday party last year, with a big ol cheeser of a grin on my face.

20130501-035707.jpg

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

