Recipe: Virgin piña colada smoothie

My friend Rach recently introduced me to the fabled Juice Cleanse, which cleared up her psoriasis and has given her a fabulous glow. I have to admit I’ve been enjoying an…erm…
enthusiastic social life since the sun made its first appearance a few weeks ago. Not to mention my murky past as an events coordinator seems to have caught up with me and I’ve been asked to help out with a few wee ‘dos’ in Glasgow! I like to joke I have three jobs, but only one requires me to leave the house!

Now Rach has far more willpower than I do, and knowing myself quite well I’m positive I’d find it nigh on impossible to stick to a full on cleanse. So I decided to start off each day with a fresh juice made by my own fair hands, followed by a ‘clean’ lunch and dinner. Plenty of steamed or grilled fish, no wheat, no dairy, no refined carbs (ie white rice, pasta etc). I’m on Day Two and I’ve been feeling great so far, so I thought I’d share a recipe for my Virgin Piña Colada smoothie.

20130613-120146.jpg
Virgin Piña Colada
1 whole fresh pineapple
1/2 can coconut milk
A splash coconut water
A handful of mint

Rach gave me the incredibly generous gift of a Vitamix blender last week so we could ‘juice together’, so I just dumped everything in whole and blitzed that baby up! If your blender isn’t the kind that can chew through golf balls, maybe chop the pineapple ;-).

Now just imagine you’re lying on a beach somewhere sipping that piña colada…maybe add a tiny umbrella as garnish.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

