Post-holiday blues

I’ve been MIA for over 2 weeks, basking in the loveliness that is my hometown of Toronto, spending time with old friends I grew up with, beautiful healthy food every day (and of course a poutine or two to shake things up), yoga, exercise…and of course, as it was a ‘working holiday’, doing a job I absolutely loved and would probably do for free.

So when I had to get on that plane home, I really didn’t want to. I’m really missing the energy of the city, and am honestly wondering if I am keeping my options narrowed by staying in Edinburgh. I can’t see me getting the design job I want nor the experience here, because Edinburgh’s status as a World Heritage Site seems up be mutually exclusive from innovative architectural development. Don’t get me wrong, I love it here, and I’ve made it my home. I adore my friends, have a fabulous social life and I’m finally getting my home the way I want. But I’m feeling in a rut and can’t see how to get out of it without a drastic change!

In other news, I just heard back from a design internship I applied for in London this year…and I’ve been accepted! It’s short term, and I really never thought I’d get it when I applied. I’d have to uproot myself and my dog for a month, it’s a scary prospect but maybe it’s the kick start I need? I’ve been looking at design courses in London in various fields (product design, textiles and spatial planning in particular) at the same time.

If I’m honest, I can’t see myself living in London long term. But it would be a great stepping stone if I wanted to move back to Canada to pursue a career in design. I was chatting to a good friend in TO and have realised I need to do something if I want to get into my dream profession, because I certainly don’t want to end up like the legions of BDes graduates I’ve known who now can’t find work. I want to be a designer, end of story. No other options need apply.

So maybe it’s time to move on…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

