So I’ve been MIA…

I’m the kind of girl who is more comfortable around guys; maybe it comes from being the only girl in a slew of boy cousins my age (my two cohorts closest in age were my guy cousins, ages 2 and 4 years older than me), or from playing primarily male-dominated sports during high school. I love shopping, shoes and manicures, but I also adore ice hockey, bikes and fast cars. I am not a girly girl.

I’ve neglected this blog this past month because in all honesty, I was having too much fun. I met some amazing new people, found a fabulous hang-out, acquired a new fully grown ‘baby brother’ and crushed on one of the nicest of wildly inappropriate dudes. I made Christmas plans that totally flew in the face of everything I’d thought was written in stone, and am now spending my first ‘orphans Christmas’ with my lovely friends who won’t be making it home to their families. I got to hang out with one of the sweetest girls I have ever met, who was so different from the usual Scottish lassies I meet every day it’s changed my perception on how I see this country I’ve made my home. I learned how important manners are. I discovered how importance privacy is, and in the process found a wee micro-group that I feel I can trust with anything.

On the flip side, it was the month I also feel I neglected some of my old friends. Sometimes people grow apart but sometimes it happens because someone doesn’t make the effort they should. And try as I might I’ve not been able to muster the energy to ‘take part’ like I used to. The kinds of parties I loved and that I could be found at every weekend started to lose their appeal, and I’ve been spending so much more time having conversations over my kitchen counter with people I genuinely feel comfortable with.

So I inadvertently took a social media hiatus but I’ve been missing my little corner of the Internet. And there are some exciting changes afoot at home, so watch this space!

20131001-004926.jpg

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

