Beauty: October Birchbox Review

True confession – I am a product junkie. My bathroom cabinets are crammed full of every new lotion and potion I can get my mitts on, from hair care to the latest ‘miracle’ mask, whipped body butters and every imaginable lip balm known to man. I honestly have to restrain myself from subscribing to every beauty box subscription going, because one day the overflow may actually take over my house. I am definitely more a skin care junkie than someone who experiments with funky makeup (in fact for special occasions I often hit up my friends at Space NK or Shu Uemura rather than doing my own face), so this most recent Birchbox was a hit with me.

20131023-235842.jpg
Dr Lipp Original nipple balm for lips This little beauty is one of my all-time favourite lip balms, so although this isn’t a ‘new’ product for me I was happy to see it included in this month’s box. I am a lip balm junkie; there’s a running joke amongst my friends that at a party, my friend Gracie and I are the go-to gals if you’re feeling a bit dry of lip. I’ll usually carry at least a couple balms, a gloss and a lipstick in my purse, no matter how tiny. The dinky version of this fabulous balm is super cute too. My Beauty Buzz card from Birchbox tells me this wee gem is a lanolin-based gel that is just perfect for cracked skin and any dry patches, which I can confirm is no lie!

Dr Brandt Micro dermabrasion skin exfoliant
I’ve tried several products from this range but this is one I’ve not used yet. I have issues with the pores around my T-zone area so I’m always up for trying the latest magic exfoliant (both the physical scrubby kind and those that use fruit acids). This uses both crystals AND lactic acid to get rid of dead skin cells that may cause dullness, promising to reveal a smooth and brightened complexion underneath. I am looking forward to trying this out in my skin care routine, and as I have been impressed with Dr Brandt products in the past I have high hopes for this one.

Laura Mercier Radiance primer
I’ve heard good things about this product, and it should fit in perfectly with my recent resolution to sport a more natural look. I find the less I wear in the way of bases, the younger I look; I’m quite happy to say my skin looks rather good for my age, and whilst I can get away with it I stick to tinted moisturisers and Kiehl’s BB cream during the day with a radiance enhancing primer. This version claims to give a ‘soft focus’ finish which is right up my street.

The Balm Stainiac
A lip and cheek stain? My go-to lip look is rosy and glossy, so some of my favourite products are those that leave a just-bitten stain. I have an aversion to a nude, pale lip…and I hate it when my lip colour wears off and I feel I look terribly washed out. I have loads of lip stains but as I use these all the time (layered under a gloss) I’m sure I’ll use it.

Egyptian Magic All-purpose skin cream
I’m not really a fan of sachet samples, as I find them messy to use. The ingredients sound intriguing though: olive oil, beeswax, honey, bee pollen, royal jelly and propolis extract. I’ll try this out and I do like the fact the cream contains no fragrance or additives.

KMS California Free shape deep conditioner
Claiming to tame and smooth the cuticle (what conditioner doesn’t?), and to promote ‘pliability’ of coarse and unruly locks, and to better respond to heat styling. Whether I like of am ambivalent to this product will largely depend on the fragrance and texture I think, as I’m quite attached to my Frederic Fekkai Glossing conditioner at the moment.

UltraDex recalcifying and whitening toothpaste
I can’t really get worked up above toothpaste; if it’s minty I’m happy. I use a whitening toothpaste so this mini version could be good for travel.

Akane Mask Cocoon Nocturne
Interestingly, this is a night time mask rather than a cream; a thin layer is applied to the skin before bed for a ‘luscious and refresed’ complexion upon waking. I’d love to wake up looking refreshed before my first caffeine hit so I’m excited to try this mask and I do love a good night time treatment.

Leave a Reply

